Faculty

Name
Title

E-Mail Office and Hours Area of Specialization Region
John Abbott Senior Lecturer jabbot1@uic.edu 1015 UH,
M and W- 10-11am
Modern European History   Germany and Western Europe 
Sunil Agnani Associate Professor

sagnani1@uic.edu 1919 UH
By appointment
European Enlightenment, Empire and Decolonization, 18th c. British and French thought Europe
Cynthia M. Blair Associate Professor

cmblair@uic.edu 1215 UH,
By appointment
African-American History U.S.
Christopher
Boyer
Professor 

crboyer@uic.edu 901 UH,
T- 2-3pm or by appointment
Modern Mexico, Environmental History Latin America
Jennifer
Brier
Associate Professor
              
jbrier@uic.edu 1204 UH,
M and W- 4:30-5:30pm
LGBTQ Studies, US Women's History, Public History U.S.
Joaquín
Chávez

Associate Professor

chavezj1@uic.edu 1017 UH,
T and R-
12:30-1:30 pm
Latin American and Caribbean history, the Global South Latin America
Jonathan W. Daly Professor

daly@uic.edu 1019 UH,
M and W- 11am-12pm
Modern Russia, World History Europe
 Cory Davis
Lecturer
cdavis26@uic.edu 924 UH,
M and W-
10-10:50 am and 1-2:50pm
   
Malgorzata
Fidelis
Associate Professor and DGS

gosia01@uic.edu 900 UH,
M- 3-4:30pm
T- 11am-1pm
Twentieth-century Europe, Eastern Europe, Poland, Gender, communism Europe
Julie Fountain  Lecturer

jfount2@uic.edu

 
1011 UH,
T and R-
12:30-1:30pm
Modern Britain, Women's History  
Adam
Goodman
Assistant Professor

asig@uic.edu 1521 UH,
R- 1-3pm
Migration/immigration, Latino and Latin American U.S.
Kirk
Hoppe
Associate Professor
kahoppe1@uic.edu 922 UH,
M and W-
10-11am and 2-3pm
Modern African, Modern World history, imperialism, colonialism Africa
Laura
Hostetler
Professor

hostetle@uic.edu

1008 UH,
M- 11-12pm, 2-4pm and W-11am-12pm
Late Imperial China, History of Cartography Asia
Lynn Hudson
Associate Professor
hudsonlm@uic.edu 918 UH,
T, R- 10:30-11:30pm
 U.S. West, African American History  U.S.
Michael Jin Assistant Professor
mrjin@uic.edu 1012 UH,
By appointment
Transnational Asia, Pacific Rim, Asian American and Pacific Islander U.S., Global Asian Studies
Robert
Johnston
Professor

johnsto1@uic.edu 930 UH,
M-10am-12pm
Director of Teacher Education Program; Progressive Era U.S. U.S.
Nicole
Jordan
Associate Professor

njordan@uic.edu 1005 UH,
M-11-11:40am

Modern Europe, European Diplomacy Europe
Mustafa Ismail Kaya  Lecturer  mkaya@uic.edu  914 UH, M,W -9:20-9:50am, R- 3:30-4:30pm Religious Elite of The Nile-To-Oxus region in the 15th century  Islamic Thought
Ralph
Keen
Professor
rkeen01@uic.edu Honors College,
By appointment
Early modern Europe, History of Ideas, Religious History Europe
Samuel Kling  Lecturer  samuelkling2016@u.northwestern.edu      
Richard S.
Levy
Professor

rslevy@uic.edu 923 UH,
M and W- 9-11:30 am and Friday by appointment

Modern Europe, Modern Germany Europe
Mark
Liechty
Professor

liechty@uic.edu 3110D BSB,
T and R- 2-3:30pm


South Asian Culture and History Asia
Rama Sundari Mantena
Associate Professor
rmantena@uic.edu 929 UH,
T-9:30-10:30am
South Asia, Colonial India, British Empire Asia
Ellen
McClure
Associate Professor

ellenmc@uic.edu 1732 UH,
R- 1-3pm and by appointment
17th-century France Europe
Neal R.
McCrillis
Associate Professor
nealrm@uic.edu British and Irish history, World War I Europe
Marina
Mogilner
Associate Professor

mmogilne@uic.edu

1001 UH,
By appointment
Imperialism
Russia/USSR
Europe
Nermeen Mouftah
Visiting Assistant Professor
 nmouftah@uic.edu 904 UH,
T and R- 1-3pm
 History and Anthropology of the Islamic World
 Islamic World
Julie
Peters
Clinical Associate Professor

jlpeters@uic.edu 926 UH,
T- 11-1pm,
R-11am-3pm,
Wednesday by appointment
Teacher Education U.S.
Junaid
Quadri
Assistant Professor

jquadri@uic.edu
925 UH,
On leave
Modern Islam, Islamic law, Islamic theology
Islamic World
Barbara
Ransby
Professor

bransby@uic.edu African-American History U.S.
Kevin M.
Schultz
Professor and Chair

schultzk@uic.edu 909 UH,
M and W- 11am-12pm
Modern America, Religious, Ethnoracial, and Intellectual History U.S.
Jeffrey
Sklansky
Associate Professor

sklanskj@uic.edu 921 UH,
W-10am-12pm,
R- 1-2pm
Intellectual, economic, and social history of the 19th century US and early America, history of capitalism, history of social science U.S.
Keely
Stauter-Halsted
Professor

stauterh@uic.edu 1003 UH,
R- 2-4pm and by appointment
History of Poland Europe
Peter Strickland Lecturer

pstric2@uic.edu

1007 UH,
T- 1-2pm,
W- 12-1PM
Modern Britain  
Astrida Orle
Tantillo
Professor

tantillo@uic.edu 410 UH,
By appointment
Germany, History of Science and Philosophy Europe
Elizabeth
Todd-Breland
Assistant Professor
etoddbre@uic.edu 920 UH,
On leave

20th century US, African American, Urban History U.S.

Emeriti

Name Field E-mail
Michael C. Alexander Ancient Rome micalexa@uic.edu
Renato
Barahona
Spain, Early Modern Europe barahona@uic.edu
Burton J. Bledstein
US intellectual and social  bjb@uic.edu
Bruce J. Calder Latin and Central America, Caribbean bcalder@uic.edu
James Cracraft Russia and Modern Europe cracraft@uic.edu
Gerald A. Danzer Teaching of History, History of Cartography, and State and Local History
GDanzer@uic.edu
John D'Emilio LGBT history and history of sexuality demilioj@aol.com
Perry Duis Chicago, U.S. urban history prduis@uic.edu
Steven Fanning Medieval and Byzantine sfanning@uic.edu
Leon Fink
American Labor, Immigration history
 leonfink@uic.edu  
Richard Fried 20th century US, political and Cold War
rmfried@uic.edu
William Hoisington French colonial williamh@uic.edu
George Huppert Renaissance France huppert@uic.edu
Peter d’A Jones U.S. contact via the dept
David P. Jordan France dpj@uic.edu
Lansine Kaba Islam, Africa lkaba@uic.edu
John J. Kulczycki Polish, Modern Nationalism kul@uic.edu
Susan Levine
 Gender, Social Movements in U.S. history
slevine@uic.edu   
 

Deirdre N. McCloskey

 Economic History  deirdre2.enteract@rcn.com
Robert Messer (cv) US diplomatic messer@uic.edu
Marion S. Miller Italian, Decolonization msm@uic.edu
Guity Nashat Middle East, Islam gnashat@uic.edu
Michael Perman US politics, the South, Civil War and Reconstruction mperman@uic.edu
Jim Sack 18th- and 19th-century Britain jsack@uic.edu
Leo Schelbert
American immigration, ethnicity lschelbe@uic.edu
Ina Zweiniger-Bargielowska Modern Britain, British Women and Gender

inazb@uic.edu