Graduate Students


Name (click for personal page
office  / office hours
Email research interests / dissertation title
advisor
Hashim Ali    hali25@uic.edu Cultural history of Modern Iran specifically visual culture, historical memory and social space
 
Maria Emily Alvarez    malvar35@uic.edu    
Victoria Alvarez    alvarez.vicko@gmail.com    
Christopher Anderson 1000 UH canders8@uic.edu
Jennifer Scism Ash    

jash3@uic.edu

 

African American history, women's history, social movement history, biography, gender & sexuality studies.

 

Barbara Ransby

Marie Bednarz    mariebednarz28@gmail.com    
Daniel Bender    abender4@gmail.com
   
Joshua Bergeron  1027 UH
 jberge24@uic.edu
   
Julia Berkowitz Juliaberkowitz@hotmail.com

Daniel Berman  1000 UH
dberma4@uic.edu 
   
Lauren Bianchi lbianc2@uic.edu

Ismael Biyashev

 1002 UH
 

ibiyas2@uic.edu


   
Anne Brixius  1002 UH / MW 12-1pm

abrixi2@uic.edu Race, Ethnicity, Migration, and Discrimination in the United States and Germany in Comparative International Perspective
Malgorzata Fidelis

Huiying Chen 1002 UH / M 2-4pm

hchen87@uic.edu
Barbara Collins    bcolli23@uic.edu
   
Erin K. Crawley 1030 UH / M 12-1, W 2-3

Crawley.erin@gmail.com

Allison Czadowski  1004 UH
 aczado2@uic.edu
   
Ian T. Darnell 1014 UH
darnell.ian@gmail.com

"Those Who Stayed Behind: Sexuality, Race, and Community in the City of St. Louis, 1945-1995." 

Jennifer Brier
Rick Elliot  1027 UH
 rellio5@uic.edu    
Carl Ewald  1002 UH
 cewald3@uic.edu    
Eliot H. Fackler  1001 UH / T 11-1pm

eliot.fackler@gmail.com
U.S. history, science and technology studies, environmental history, the history of capitalism, American imperialism.

Robert Johnston
Ryan Fishman rfishm2@uic.edu Robert Johnston
Noah Glaser    nglase3@uic.edu
   
Jacob Gold    jgold3@uic.edu
   
Maggie Grossman    mag.grossman@gmail.com    
Hilda Franco hils.franco@gmail.com
Manamee Guha 1030 UH / TR 1-2pm

mguha2@uic.edu

Caleb G. Hardner 1027 UH / W 2-3pm F after 2 by appointment

chardn2@uic.edu

Timothy M. Herbert 1004 UH therbert53@gmail.com
Melissa Hibbard
mhibba2@uic.edu

"Children of the Polish Republic: Child Health, Welfare, and the Shaping
of Modern Poland, 1914-1938," 

Keely Stauter-Halsted 

Laura L. Higgins laurhigns@aol.com
Sam Hsich     sthsich13@gmail.com    
Jill M. Jozwiak 1031 UH / MW 1-2

jjozwi4@uic.edu

Eric G. Kalweit 1031 UH / MW 11:30-12:45pm

erik.kalweit.pch@gmail.com

Zukhra Kasimova 1031 UH zkasim2@uic.edu
Peter Korlakes    pckorlakes@gmail.com    
Nicolas Gordon Llinas ngordo5@uic.edu
Arturo Luna Loranca 1006 UH alunal2@uic.edu
Frankee Lyons flyons2@uic.edu
Sohini Majumdar 1004 UH sohini250986@gmail.com
Elizabeth McFayden  1031 UH
 emcfay2@uic.edu Disability History of Incarceration in 19th- and early 20th-century United States  
Marla McMackin  1006 UH
 mcmackin@uic.edu  U.S., migration, and urban history, Gender and Women’s Studies  Jennifer Brier
Jerome B. Meites jerrymeites@sbcglobal.net
Louis R. Mercer 1014 UH / R: 10-11, 12:30-1:30
lmerce3@uic.edu History of Education, Youth Activism, Social Movements in the post-WWII U.S

Robert Johnston
Adam R. Mertz 1006 UH

amertz2@uic.edu

Tyler R. Miller 1000 UH / F 9:30-11:30am

tmille28@uic.edu African History, Transnational Labor History, Migration, History of Refugees in America

Leon Fink
Danielle Morrissette    dmorrissette87@gmail.com    
Padmapani Muzquiz 1004 UH pmuzqu2@uic.edu
Jeffrey J. Nichols 1031 UH

jnicho6@uic.edu

Alison J. Orton 1031 UH
aorton2@uic.edu US Since 1865, the Habsburg Empire, the Czech Lands, immigration, Material Culture, Beer, and Consumption, nationalism
Kevin M. Schultz
Laurie E. Perlini lperlini@uic.edu
Polina Popova 1031 UH
ppopov2@uic.edu    
Paul Ribera 1031 UH priber2@uic.edu
Maria M. Ritzema 1027 UH

mritze1@uic.edu Research interests:
Modern South Asia, Sri Lanka, migration

Rama Mantena

Marie K. Rowley 1002 UH

mrowle4@uic.edu Gender and sexuality, Urban History, 20th century US history

Jennifer Brier
Jasmine Santiago    jsanti25@uic.edu    
Caterina Scalvedi 1031 UH cscalv2@uic.edu
Jeff Schuhrke  1007 UH
 jschuh2@uic.edu
transnational labor history, U.S. history, Global Cold War, African American history, history of capitalism  
Jonathan Skinner jskinn3@uic.edu
Stephanie Smith  1000 UH
 ssmit40@uic.edu
   
Jack Snyder    jsnyder@uic.edu    
Timothy S. Soriano

Pre-Colonial African History, Transatlantic Slavery, British Atlantic World, Legal History and Theory 

 Kirk Hoppe 

Michael J. Swinford 1000 UH / WF 8-9 & by appointment

mswinf2@uic.edu

Sharaya Tindal  1031 UH
 stinda2@uic.edu    
Andrew J. Trenkle Ajtrenkle@gmail.com
William Waychunas    bilwaychunas@gmail.com
   
John H. Webb lifewriter7@gmail.com
Heather Wilpone-Welborn 1000 UH hwelbo2@uic.edu
Jeffrey Wheeler 1014 UH jeffrey.s.wheeler@gmail.com
Manfredo Winton-Sorto    mwinto2@uic.edu
   
Michal J. Wilczewski 1031 UH
mwilcz5@uic.edu Broken Land: Everyday Life and the Imperial Legacy in the Polish Countryside, 1914-1939


Keely Stauter-Halsted

Tiffany Wilson   twilso31@uic.edu   Keely Stauter-Halsted
Christopher C. Wright 1001 UH / W 11-12
ccwwgd@gmail.com