Graduate Students


Name
Office and Hours Email
Research Interests / Dissertation Title
Advisor
Hashim Ali    hali25@uic.edu Modern South Asia, Gender and Sexuality in Islam, Post-Colonial Theory and Nationalism
 Junaid Quadri
Christopher Anderson 1000 UH canders8@uic.edu
Jennifer Scism Ash    

jash3@uic.edu

 

African American history, women's history, social movement history, biography, gender & sexuality studies.

 

Barbara Ransby

Joshua Bergeron  1027 UH
 jberge24@uic.edu
   
Julia Berkowitz Juliaberkowitz@hotmail.com

Lauren Bianchi lbianc2@uic.edu

Ismael Biyashev

 1002 UH
 

ibiyas2@uic.edu


   
Anne Brixius 

abrixi2@uic.edu Race, Ethnicity, Migration, and Discrimination in the United States and Germany in Comparative International Perspective
Malgorzata Fidelis

Huiying Chen

hchen87@uic.edu
Erin K. Crawley
Crawley.erin@gmail.com

Ian T. Darnell
darnell.ian@gmail.com

"At Home On The Urban Frontier: Sexuality, Race and Neighborhood Change in Twentieth Century St. Louis" 

Jennifer Brier
Rick Elliot  1027 UH
 rellio5@uic.edu    
Carl Ewald  1002 UH
 cewald3@uic.edu    
Eliot H. Fackler 

eliot.fackler@gmail.com
U.S. history, science and technology studies, environmental history, the history of capitalism, American imperialism.

Robert Johnston
Noah Glaser   nglase3@uic.edu
   
Jacob Gold    jgold3@uic.edu
   
Maggie Grossman    mag.grossman@gmail.com    
Hilda Franco hils.franco@gmail.com
Manamee Guha

mguha2@uic.edu Modern South Asia, British Empire, Culture of Colonialism  Rama Mantena
Caleb G. Hardner 1027 UH / W 2-3pm F after 2 by appointment

chardn2@uic.edu

August Hastings  928 UH  ahasti4@uic.edu    Robert Johnston 
Timothy M. Herbert 1004 UH therbert53@gmail.com
Melissa Hibbard
mhibba2@uic.edu

"Children of the Polish Republic: Child Health, Welfare, and the Shaping
of Modern Poland, 1914-1938," 

Keely Stauter-Halsted 

Laura L. Higgins laurhigns@aol.com
Sam Hsieh     sthsich13@gmail.com    
Jill M. Jozwiak

jjozwi4@uic.edu

Eric G. Kalweit
erik.kalweit.pch@gmail.com

Zukhra Kasimova 1031 UH zkasim2@uic.edu
Nicolas Gordon Llinas ngordo5@uic.edu
Frankee Lyons flyons2@uic.edu
Sohini Majumdar 1004 UH sohini250986@gmail.com
Elizabeth McFayden  1031 UH
 emcfay2@uic.edu Disability History of Masculinity in 19th and early 20th-century United States  Robert Johnston, Sandy Sufian
Marla McMackin  1006 UH, Monday and Wednesday, 2-3 pm
 mcmackin@uic.edu  Modern U.S. History- Urban, Childhood and Youth, Migrations and Ethnic, Gender and Women's Studies  Jennifer Brier
Jerome B. Meites jerrymeites@sbcglobal.net
Louis R. Mercer 1014 UH
lmerce3@uic.edu History of Education, Youth Activism, Social Movements in the post-WWII U.S

Robert Johnston
Adam R. Mertz 1006 UH

amertz2@uic.edu

Tyler R. Miller

tmille28@uic.edu African History, Transnational Labor History, Migration, History of Refugees in America

Leon Fink
Padmapani Muzquiz 1004 UH pmuzqu2@uic.edu
Jeffrey J. Nichols 1031 UH

jnicho6@uic.edu

Alison J. Orton
aorton2@uic.edu US Since 1865, the Habsburg Empire, the Czech Lands, immigration, Material Culture, Beer, and Consumption, nationalism
Kevin M. Schultz
Laurie E. Perlini lperlini@uic.edu
Polina Popova 1031 UH
ppopov2@uic.edu    
Jose L. Ramirez   1027 UH jramir94@uic.edu  20th century dictatorships and armed conflicts in Latin America, U.S.-Latin American Relations, The Cold War in The Global South, El Salvador's Civil War, Oral History   Joaquin Chavez
Paul Ribera 1031 UH priber2@uic.edu
Maria M. Ritzema 1027 UH

mritze1@uic.edu Research interests:
Modern South Asia, Sri Lanka, migration

Rama Mantena

Francesco Luca De Salvatore    fldesalvatore@gmail.com  Race, Class,and Ethnic Studies, Urban History, 21st Century U.S. History, Cultural and Social History, Oral History, Public History   
Jasmine Santiago    jsanti25@uic.edu    
Caterina Scalvedi 1031 UH, Wednesday 3-5pm cscalv2@uic.edu European Imperialism in Africa, Education and Missions in Italian Colonialism Kirk Hoppe
Jeff Schuhrke  1007 UH
 jschuh2@uic.edu
Transnational labor history, U.S. history, Global Cold War, African American history, history of capitalism  
Jonathan Skinner jskinn3@uic.edu
Stephanie D. Smith  1000 UH
 ssmit40@uic.edu
 African American History, Early American History, British Empire  Lynn Hudson and Cynthia Blair
Timothy S. Soriano

Pre-Colonial African History, Transatlantic Slavery, British Atlantic World, Legal History and Theory 

 Kirk Hoppe 

Dan Strader    dstrad3@uic.edu     
 Matt Tapia Tuesday-Thursday, 10-3 pm   rtapia9@uic.edu    
Sharaya Tindal  1031 UH
 stinda2@uic.edu    
Andrew J. Trenkle Ajtrenkle@gmail.com
John H. Webb lifewriter7@gmail.com
Heather Wilpone-Welborn 1000 UH hwelbo2@uic.edu
Jeffrey Wheeler 1014 UH, Monday and Friday, 1-2pm jeffrey.s.wheeler@gmail.com Labor, Social and Cultural History of Public Libraries and The Welfare State History, Library History, Social History of Libraries, Cultural History of Libraries
Manfredo Winton-Sorto    mwinto2@uic.edu
   
Michal J. Wilczewski 1031 UH
mwilcz5@uic.edu Broken Land: Everyday Life and the Imperial Legacy in the Polish Countryside, 1914-1939


Keely Stauter-Halsted

Tiffany Wilson   twilso31@uic.edu   Keely Stauter-Halsted