Your browser is unsupported

We recommend using the latest version of IE11, Edge, Chrome, Firefox or Safari.

Students Inducted into History Honors Society

Professors Quadri & Schultz with five student inductees

The UIC Department of History honored some of its best students on Wednesday, November 2, 2023, inducting 6 more students into the Phi Alpha Theta History Honors Society during an afternoon ceremony. This brings the total number of Pha Alpha Theta inductees from UIC to 40 in just the two years since the chapter was founded. Department Chair Kevin M. Schultz and Director of Undergraduate Studies Junaid Quadri welcomed the students and friends to 950 University Hall, as the students received ceremonial red roses and engraved certificates welcoming them to the prestigious national honors society.

"This is a tremendous accomplishment for our students and for our Department," said Schultz. "Joining the remarkable people involved in Phi Alpha Theta will allow our students to talk to a nationwide network of people interested in history and provide our students with access to awards and scholarships for which they might not otherwise have been eligible."

Phi Alpha Theta, a national honors society that dates back to 1921, hosts an annual conference at which many students present their research for the first time. It also grants scholarships and prizes and invites students into a nationwide network of similarly inclined students.

After the students gave a roaring affirmation to "accept the challenge of striving to live up to these ideals," each student received the red rose (symbolizing beauty, charm, and fervency), a certificate, and a handshake from Professor Schultz. Seniors will wear special Phi Alpha Theta cords at graduation, courtesy the Department of History. The ceremony was followed by beverages and snacks and much merriment.

The fall 2023 initiates of UIC Phi Alpha Theta History Honors Society includes: Angelica Aguillon, Daniel Solorio Garcia, Daniel Lapczynski, Joe Reyna, Christian Rodriguez-Hernandez, and Finn Yatvin.