Your browser is unsupported

We recommend using the latest version of IE11, Edge, Chrome, Firefox or Safari.

Departmental Awards

In addition to a number of awards for graduate student funding, each and every year the Department honors its students and faculty through a series of awards.

The Shirley Bill Award Heading link

Shirley A. Bill joined our faculty in 1947, when the University was still located at Navy Pier. One of Professor Bill’s undergraduate students has endowed a teaching award in her name to honor her memory and achievement. The wishes of the donor are that the award be given each year to a faculty member chosen by vote of faculty, graduate students, and undergraduate history majors.

The Gordon Lee Goodman Award for Distinction in Undergraduate Studies Heading link

The Gordon Lee Goodman Award for Distinction in Undergraduate Studies was endowed by friends and relatives of the late Gordon L. Goodman, associate professor of British History at UIC.  It is given annually, by vote of the history faculty, to the student (or, on occasion, students), near senior standing, who most demonstrates excellent scholarship.

The Lillian Edinger Scholarship For Undergraduates Heading link

The Lillian Edinger Fund provides a scholarship for undergraduates  pursuing a B.A. in history at UIC.  The winner is decided by the history faculty in coordination with the Dean of LAS

Peter R. D’Agostino Memorial Scholarship Fund Heading link

An annual award for graduate study with preference given to those whose research concentration is in the areas of religious, immigration or transnational history.

Deena Allen Memorial Fellowship Heading link

An annual award for Ph.D. candidates who plan research in Europe.  Open to those in Modern European History with preference to those students in British history.  The award is to be used to enable the awardee to take advantage of cultural opportunities while abroad.

Bentley Brinkerhoff Gilbert Fellowship Heading link

An annual fellowship to Ph.D. candidates in European history (including Great Britain, Ireland and the territory of the former U.S.S.R.).  The fellowship is to be used for travel for research purposes and personal support during the writing of the dissertation.

Robert V. Remini Scholarship Heading link

An annual award to Ph.D. candidates in American history who are researching and/or writing a dissertation in that field.

John B. And Theta Wolf Fellowship Heading link

An annual for Ph.D. candidates whose dissertation is in the field of European, Mediterranean or Middle Eastern history (includes continental Europe, Great Britain, Russian and North Africa).

Polish National Alliance Research Award Heading link

An annual award to a graduate student in any field who has completed at least one course in Polish history.  The award requires that the student do an appropriate amount of research in Polish history during the term of the award.

History of Poland Scholarship Heading link

An annual award to a graduate student or undergraduate majoring in history who has taken or is taking course work related to the History of Poland and has at least a 3.0 grade point average.

Polish Resistance (AK) Foundation Scholarship Heading link

An annual award given to a graduate or undergraduate student of Polish history.

Marion S. Miller Dissertation Fellowship Heading link

Two annual dissertation fellowships open to Ph.D. candidates in all fields to be used for either research and/or writing of the dissertation. While all Ph.D. candidates are encouraged to apply, in recent years the preference has been given to applicants who are in the last stages of dissertation completion.

The Leo Schelbert Prize Heading link

An award given to a Ph.D candidate in any field who has demonstrated exceptional interest and skill in teaching. When applying, please include a brief (1-2 page) statement on your teaching philosophy and accomplishments.